CLOSE
Leave a comment

may14_pic4_article

Erykah Badu’s headed your way. Her 2010 “Out My Mind, Just In Time” tour is kicking off this month with special guests Janelle Monae, Bilal, Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson from the Roots, B.o.B., Lupe Fiasco and N.E.R.D. Given that eclectic mix of musical talents, you can be sure that Badu live is not to be missed.

The petite, green-eyed singer has already generated controversy via her “Window Seat” video. In the video for the first single from her fifth studio CD, “New Amerykah Pt. 2: Return of the Ankh,” Badu walks through the streets of her native Dallas stripping off her clothes. At the end, she “collapses” at Dealey Plaza, the site of the JFK assassination. Badu was charged with disorderly conduct after the fact and fined $500.

“My point was grossly misunderstood all over America,” Badu said. “JFK is one of my heroes, one of the nation’s heroes. John F. Kennedy was a revolutionary; he was not afraid to butt heads with America, and I was not afraid to show America my butt-naked truth.”

Well, no word on whether Badu will show any excessive skin during her tour, but if you’re interested in seeing her perform her music live, that can definitely happen. Here are her tour dates for the U.S. and a smattering of dates in Canada for the Lilith Fair.

ERYKAH BADU 2010 TOUR DATES

Friday, May 28: Washington, D.C., at Constitution Hall w/ N.E.R.D., Janelle Monae

Saturday, May 29: Washington, D.C., at Constitution Hall w/ N.E.R.D.

Sunday, May 30: Baltimore, MD, at Pier Six Pavilion w/ N.E.R.D., Janelle Monae

Wednesday, June 2: Chicago, IL, at Chicago Theater w/ N.E.R.D., Janelle Monae

Thursday, June 3: Chicago, IL at Chicago Theater w/ N.E.R.D., Janelle Monae

Friday, June 4: Detroit, MI, at Chene Park w/ N.E.R.D., Janelle Monae

Sunday, June 6: Boston, MA, at Orpheum Theatre w/ Janelle Monae

Monday, June 7: New York, NY, at Roseland Ballroom w/ ?uestlove, Janelle Monae

Tuesday, June 8: Philadelphia, PA, at Tower Theater w/ Bilal, Janelle Monae

Thursday, June 10: Memphis, TN, at Orpheum Theatre w/ Janelle Monae

Friday, June 11: Atlanta, GA, at Phillips Arena w/ Maxwell

Sunday, June 13: Houston, TX, at Verizon Wireless Theater w/ Janelle Monae

Monday, June 14: Dallas, TX, at Nokia Theatre w/ B.o.B., Janelle Monae

Wednesday, June 16: Denver, CO, at The Fillmore Auditorium w/ Janelle Monae

Frday, June 18: Oakland, CA, at Paramount Theatre w/ Janelle Monae

Saturday, June 19: Saratoga, CA, at The Mountain Winery

Sunday, June 20: Los Angeles, CA, at Greek Theater w/ Janelle Monae, Lupe Fiasco

Tuesday, June 22: San Diego, CA, at Humphreys Concerts by the Bay w/ Janelle Monae

Wednesday, June 23: Phoenix, AZ, at Marquee Theatre w/ Janelle Monae

Thursday, June 24: Las Vegas, NV, at The Pearl Concert Theater

Saturday, June 26: New York, NY, at Madison Square Garden w/ Maxwell

LILITH FAIR & FESTIVALS

Sunday, June 27: Calgary, AB Canada, at MaMahon Stadium

Monday, June 28: Edmonton, AB Canada, at Northlands Spectrum

Wednesday, June 30: Vancouver, BC Canada, at Pitt Meadows Airport

Friday, July 2: Portland, OR, at Sleep Country Amphitheatre

Saturday, July 3: George, WA, at The Gorge Amphitheatre

Sunday, August 4: Raleigh, NC, at Time Warner Cable Music Pavilion

Tuesday, August 6: Richmond, VA, at Kanawah Plaza

Also On 93.1 WZAK:
#WakandaCameToSlay! Black Folks Are Rolling Up To Theaters To See ‘Black Panther’ Like This…
60 photos
comments – add yours
×