Leave a comment

 

http://s2smagazine.com/stories/2012/05/gospel-greats-headline-kings-men-tour

For the first time in music history, Kirk Franklin, Marvin Sapp, Donnie McClurkin and Israel Houghton will share the stage during The King’s Men concert tour this fall. The tour will hit 15 cities, beginning on Sunday, Sept.16 in Phoenix. The run will wrap up Oct. 14 in Brooklyn, NY.

“In the Gospel world, this is Springsteen, McCartney, Prince and Elton hitting the road together,” Kevin Morrow, Senior Vice President of Touring at Live Nation, said in a press release. “It’s going to be a once-in-a-lifetime event for music fans.”

Among the four artists, they have successfully taken home more than 100 Grammy, Dove, Stellar BET, Soul Train, NAACP and American Music Award trophies.

“The opportunity to partner with Live Nation is a great honor and responsibility,” Kirk said. “The genre of gospel music having this kind of massive marketing support is monumental, and the talent on this tour makes it a must-see event! I’m very proud of this relationship and I expect it to be a new groundbreaking platform for inspirational entertainment.”

Israel’s album Decade was released in March and Marvin’s I Win hit shelves last month. Kirk dropped his 12th studio album, Hello Fear, last March, while Donnie’s most recent album, Psalms, Hymns and Spiritual Songs, was released in 2004.

Tickets go on sale Friday, May 11. VIP packages and meet-and-greet opportunities will be available. Get concert dates below.

Sun, Sep 16 Phoenix, AZ Comerica Theatre 

Wed, Sep 19 Los Angeles, CA Gibson Amphitheatre

Sat, Sep 22 Concord, CA Sleep Train Amphitheatre

Tue, Sep 25 Dallas, TX Verizon Theatre At Grand Prairie

Wed, Sep 26 Houston, TX Reliant Arena

Fri, Sep 28 Atlanta, GA Chastain Amphitheatre

Sun, Sep 30 Miami, FL American Airlines Arena

Tue, Oct 2 Tampa, FL USF Sun Dome

Thu, Oct 4 Norfolk, VA Constant Convocation Center

Sat, Oct 6 Washington DC Verizon Center

Sun, Oct 7 Philadelphia, PA Liacouras Center

Tue, Oct 9 Cleveland, OH Wolstein Center

Wed, Oct 10 Chicago, IL United Center

Fri, Oct 12 Detroit, MI Fox Theatre

Sun, Oct 14 Brooklyn, NY Barclays Center

Also On 93.1 WZAK:
comments – Add Yours