Detroit Tigers v Cleveland Indians

Source: Jason Miller / Getty

CLEVELAND — The Cleveland Indians are American League Central Division champions for the second consecutive season.

Coupled with an 8-4 victory over the Kansas City Royals at Progressive Field earlier in the day and the Toronto Blue Jays’ 7-2 win over the Minnesota Twins at Target Field Saturday night, the Indians earned their second straight division championship, a first for the team since the 1998 and 1999 seasons.

The Indians have won nine AL Central titles since the division was founded when Major League Baseball switched to the six-division format during the 1994 season. No other team in the division, which includes the Chicago White Sox, Twins, Detroit Tigers and Royals, have won more championships than the Indians.

Currently, at 92-57, the Indians hold the best record in the American League and second-best mark in all of baseball. The Indians lead the Astros (90-58) by three games in the race for the best record in the American League and home-field advantage through at least the first two rounds of the postseason.

Home-field advantage is something the Indians got plenty of experience with during their run to Game 7 of the 2016 World Series, as they held it in all three of their playoff series last fall, and that support extended over to this year when the team was on a recent historic run.

As the Indians went through their American League-record 22-game winning streak over the last three weeks, which ended with a 4-3 loss to the Royals Friday night, the fans flocked to Progressive Field in droves to support the team.


Article Courtesy of WKYC Channel 3 News Cleveland

Picture Courtesy of Jason Miller and Getty Images

Gif and First and Second Tweet Courtesy of Twitter 

BET Awards 2017 Gone But Not Forgotten [PHOTO]
0 photos