New Jersey’s very own diva of all divas, Whitney Houston, and Arista Records/Legacy Recordings are set to release the 25th Anniversary Edition of “Whitney Houston,” the fabulous 1985 debut album that catapulted a young, stunning, lanky, chanteuse (born in Newark and moved to East Orange at the …

the age of four) into the upper echelon of international pop super stardom.

This chart-topping, re-mastered original album includes five bonus tracks including Houston’s a cappella recording of “How will I know” plus a stunning live performance of “Greatest Love of All.”

This anniversary edition comes with a super surprise – a features-packed DVD which includes three rare TV performances including “I am changing,” from the 1982 Broadway production of “Dreamgirls,” “You Give Good Love” from the first annual Soul Train Music Awards Show in 1987 and “Home” from Houston’s national television debut on the Merv Griffith show in 1983.

Originally released on Valentine’s Day 1985, “Whitney Houston” entered The Billboard 200 at No. 166 the week of March 30. A year later the album began its first seven-week run at No. 1, then spent three weeks at No. 2 before reclaiming the top slot for a jaw-dropping second seven-week stand.

This musical neutron bomb became a fixture on The Billboard 200 for 162 weeks, including a record-breaking 46 weeks in the Top 10 and 14 non-consecutive weeks at No. 1.

The strength, beauty and power of this hit factory album – including four chart-topping singles (“You Give Good Love,”,”Saving All My Love For You,” “How Will I Know,” “Greatest Love of All”) – made “Whitney Houston” one of the most loved and enduring albums in pop music history.

The album was the most top-selling debut album ever released by a solo artist and went on to sell more than 25 million copies worldwide while earning RIAA-certified 13x Platinum status in the US (in recognition of domestic sales of more than 13 million pieces).

In 1986, “Whitney Houston” not only earned a “Best Album” Grammy nomination, but Houston also took home her first Grammy that year in the “Best Pop Vocal Female” Category for “Saving All My Love For You.”

Today, 25 years later, Houston remains undefeated as she holds the record for most American Music Awards (21) – having won her first seven AMA’s and an MTV Video Award in 1986.

Houston’s performance during the 1986 Grammy Awards ceremony garnered the songbird her first Emmy for “Outstanding Individual Performance in a Variety of Music” program. There was no doubt that Houston was a rising super star that would dominate the music charts for years to come.

“I cannot believe it has been 25 years since my first album!” writes Whitney Houston in her exclusive letter to fans appearing in the packaging for the 25th anniversary release of her debut. “I could never have done this without the support, encouragement and unconditional love from my fans all over the world. I love you all!”

‘Whitney Houston’ – 25th Anniversary Edition – Full Track listing:

  • Disc 1 – CD
  • “You Give Good Love”
  • “Thinking About You”
  • “Someone For Me”
  • “Saving All My Love For You”
  • “Nobody Loves Me Like You Do”
  • “How Will I Know”
  • “All At Once”
  • “Take Good Care Of My Heart”
  • “Greatest Love of All”
  • “Hold Me” (Duet With Teddy Pendergrass)
  • Bonus Tracks
  • “Thinking About You” (Remix by Bruce Forest)
  • “Someone For Me” (Remix by Alan Coulthard)
  • “How Will I Know” (A Cappella)
  • “How Will I Know” (Remix by Jellybean)
  • “Greatest Love of All” (Live)

Disc 2 – DVD

  • “Home” Whitney Houston’s premiere performance on the Merv Griffin Show
  • “I Am Changing” Live from the Arista Records 10th Anniversary celebration, 1985
  • “You Give Good Love” Live from the First Annual Soul Train Awards Show, 1987
  • “You Give Good Love” Music Video
  • “Saving All My Love” Music Video
  • “How Will I Know” Music Video
  • “Greatest Love Of All” Music Video
  • Interviews with Whitney Houston and Clive Davis