CLEVELAND – The state of Ohio announced Tuesday the stretches of highway where drivers will soon be able to go a little faster.

Starting July 1, drivers will be able to go 70 mph on 570 miles of interstate highway, which includes the entire Ohio Turnpike. The higher speed will only be authorized “outside urban areas,” the Ohio Department of Transportation said.

The increase of 5 mph was enabled by H.B. 51, passed by the Ohio legislature.

Now, the state has to place 317 new signs to alert drivers, a cost of $8,287.19.

Here are the locations of the increased speed:

Interstate 70

– From the Indiana border in the west to just outside of Wheeling, WV in the east, excluding Dayton, Columbus and Zanesville

Interstate 71

– From the Jeremiah Morrow Bridge in southwest Ohio to just south of the border of the Cuyahoga/Medina County line in the north, excluding Columbus

Interstate 75

– From just outside of Toledo going south until just north of Dayton, excluding Findlay and Lima

Interstate 76

– From just outside Akron going east to just west of Youngstown

Interstate 77

– From just outside of Canton south to the West Virginia border

Interstate 90

– From just outside of Cleveland to the Pennsylvania border

In all, 43 percent of Ohio’s interstate highways will have the new 70 mph designation.


Article and Picture Courtesy of WEWS NewsChannel 5