Subsequently, Doug Williams became the first black quarterback to win a Super Bowl, when he led the Washington Washington Football Team to a victory in 1988. Williams had been selected by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers as the 17th pick in the first round of the 1978 draft.

In this year’s NFL season, the nine black quarterbacks that are expected to start things off include, Josh Freeman (Tampa Bay Buccaneers), Robert Griffith III (Washington Washington Football Team), Colin Kaepernick (San Francisco 49ers), E.J. Manuel (Buffalo Bills), Cam Newton (Carolina Panthers), Terrelle Pryor (Oakland Raiders), Geno Smith (New York Jets), Michael Vick (Philadelphia Eagles) and Russell Wilson (Seattle Seahawks).

The new season kicks off Sunday, September 8, 2013 with a game between the Dallas Cowboys and the New York Giants.

Little Known Black History Fact: 2013 NFL Record Black Quaterbacks  was originally published on

« Previous page 1 2